Wednesday, 6 March 2013

Oyo Teachers hail Ajimobi over pension payment for retired colleagues

Primary School Head-teachers in Oyo State have commended the state Governor, Senator Abiola Ajimobi, for approving the immediate commencement of monthly pension payment for retired primary school teachers in the state.

The primary school head-teachers, under the auspices of the Association of Primary School Headteachers of Nigeria (AOPSHON), gave the commendation in a letter issued in Ibadan by Alhaji Bolaji Adeleke and Mr. I. O. Akanni, state Chairman and Secretary respectively.

It would be recalled that the massive fraud discovered at the Local Government Pension Board, a body responsible for the payment of pension allowances to retired primary school teachers and local government workers, had prevented the teachers who retired in July 2011, from being placed on monthly pensions.

The situation had also hampered the payment of their gratuities, a situation that had led to series of meetings between them and the state government.

Governor Ajimobi, however, approved the immediate commencement of the pensions to the retired primary school teachers with effect from January 2013.

The teachers said that that the approval of the pension payment had put smiles on the faces of the retired senior citizens, even as they pledged their solidarity and total support to the governor on his transformation agenda for the state.

Also, a socio-cultural organization, Ibadan Foundation has also identified with Governor Ajimobi on his administration’s urban renewal programme in Ibadan and other major towns and cities across the state.

``It was noted that though the operations entailed massive dislocation of people with lots of inconveniences, the urban renewal initiative of your administration promises to be of long term benefits to the generality of the people.

``We salute your courage in the endeavour and wish you more successes in other sectors in the overall interest of the state,’’ the organization said in a statement issued in Ibadan on Monday by Engr. Lere Adigun and Alamu Muda-Ayeni, the President and Executive Secretary respectively.

No comments:

Post a Comment

We love your comments, Please do not spam, thanks.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...